Arizona Medical Marijuana Laws

Arizona
Laws & Penalties (Tab)
Recreational Users (click for laws)
-People who are not registered with an up-to-date ID card to use medical marijuana.

Patient/Caregivers (click for laws)
A “Patient” is a person who is registered with the state to use medical marijuana.  Patient registration fee is $150 and $75 for Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program participants (caregivers). 
A “Caregiver” is a person who is 21 or over and has agreed to assist with a patient’s medical use of marijuana.  A caregiver cannot have been convicted of a felony, and may not assist more than five qualifying patients.  They may receive reimbursement for incurred costs in assisting registered patients but are not allowed to be compensated or paid off.
Qualifying Conditions include AIDS, anorexia, arthritis, cachexia, cancer, chronic pain, glaucoma, migraine, persistent muscle spasms, including those associated with multiple sclerosis, seizures associated with but not limited to epilepsy, severe nausea.

Dispensaries (click for laws)
People certified to grow and provide medical marijuana to certified patients.

 

 

Patients:
State of Arizona: Medical Marijuana Laws
-Ballot Proposition 203 "Arizona Medical Marijuana Act," Approved Nov. 2, 2010 by 50.13%
What it means: Allows registered qualifying patients (who must have a physician's written certification that they have been diagnosed with a debilitating condition and that they would likely receive benefit from marijuana) to obtain marijuana from a registered nonprofit dispensary, and to possess and use medical marijuana to treat the condition.??Specifies that employers may not discriminate against registered patients unless that employer would lose money or licensing under federal law.
Employers also may not penalize registered patients solely for testing positive for marijuana in drug tests, although the law does not authorize patients to use, possess, or be impaired by marijuana on the employment premises or during the hours of employment.

*Also, registered patients from other states are considered qualified in Arizona but may not purchase from an Arizona dispensary.

Approved Conditions: Cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, Hepatitis C, ALS, Crohn's disease, Alzheimer's disease, cachexia or wasting syndrome, severe and chronic pain, severe nausea, seizures (including epilepsy), severe or persistent muscle spasms (including multiple sclerosis).

Possession/Cultivation: Qualified patients or their registered caregivers may retain up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana in a 14-day period from a registered dispensary. If the patient lives more than 25 miles from the nearest dispensary, the patient or caregiver may cultivate up to 12 marijuana plants in an enclosed, locked facility.

Obviously this means that even a “qualified patient” and/or “caregiver” is definitely subject to arrest and prosecution if they do not follow the “guidelines”.  For example possessing more than two ounces.  Of course that does not mean that they couldn’t use medical necessity as an excuse or reasoning.

For Exact Rules & Regulations:
-Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS) ?Write to:  Medical Marijuana Program?                 150 North 18th Avenue?                 Phoenix, Arizona 85007?Call:  602-542-1023

-Patient Registry Fee:?$150/ $75 for Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program participants??-Accepts other states' registry ID cards??Yes, but does not permit visiting patients to obtain marijuana from an Arizona dispensary

-Registration:?Mandatory

Recreational User - Non-Qualified Patient/Caregiver Law:
Possession               
Incarceration 
Fine
Less than 2 lbs
Misdemeanor or Felony – 6 months to 1.5 years
$750 - $150,000
2 – 4 lbs
Misdemeanor or Felony – 9 months to 2 years
$750 - $150,000
4 lbs or more
Felony – 1.5 – 3 years
$750 - $150,000
Near school or bus
Felony – Additional 1 year
Additional $2,000

 

Cultivation


Less than 2 lbs
Misdemeanor or Felony – 9 months to 2 years
$750 - $150,000
2 – 4 lbs
Felony – 1.5 – 3 years
$750 - $150,000
4 lbs or more
Felony – 2.5 – 7 years
$750 - $150,000

Possession for Sale


Less than 2 lbs
Felony – 1.5 – 3 years
$750 - $150,000
2 – 4 lbs
Felony – 2.5 – 7 years
$750 - $150,000
4 lbs or more
Felony – 4 – 10 years
$750 - $150,000

 

Sale or Delivery for Sale


Less than 2 lbs
Felony – 2.5 – 7 years
$750 - $150,000
2 lbs or more
Felony – 4 – 10 years
$750 - $150,000

Miscellaneous (Paraphernalia possession and sale)
Misdemeanor or Felony – 6 months to 1.5 years
Up to $150,000
*Any person convicted of personal possession or use of marijuana is eligible for probation.
*The person on probation is required to participate in an appropriate drug treatment or education program and may be required to attend a more stringent treatment program for a second offense. They must also submit to urine drug tests as a condition of their probation (with the only exception being made for those who use marijuana under a prescription).
*Persons convicted of a third or subsequent offense is not eligible for probation.

Dispensaries:
A medical marijuana dispensary is a not-for-profit entity that acquires, possesses, cultivates, manufactures, delivers, transfers, transports, supplies, sells or dispenses related supplies to registered cardholders (patients or caregivers).  A dispensary may receive reimbursement for all expenses incurred.  The fee is not available.  

Related News & Information

Learn More About Federal Marijuana Laws   Learn About California's Marijuana Laws  

Read About the Laws in Other States