Colorado Medical Marijuana Laws June 2014

Colorado Marijuana Penalties

Offense Penalty Incarceration   Max. Fine  

Possession

Personal Use

One oz or less* no penalty none $ 0
Transfer of one oz or less for no remuneration* no penalty none $ 0
Open and public displays or uses of less than 2 oz petty offense 15 days $ 100
2 - 6 oz misdemeanor 1 year $ 1,000
6 - 12 oz misdemeanor 18 mos $ 10,000
More than 12 oz felony 1 - 1.5 years $ 100,000
* By persons 21 years of age or older.

With Intent to Distribute

Possession of 8 oz or more is considered possession with the intent to distribute will enhance the sentence.

Sale or Distribution

5 lbs or less felony 1 - 3 years $ 100,000
5 - 100 lbs felony 2 - 6 years $ 500,000
100 lbs or more felony 4 - 12 years $ 75,000
5 lbs or more to a minor felony 3 - 12 years $ 75,000
Sale to a minor carries an additional penalty of 4 years mandatory minimum sentence.

Cultivation

6 plants or fewer* no penalty none $ 0
More than 6 but fewer than 30 plants felony 2 - 6 years $ 500,000
* By persons 21 years of age or older.

Hash & Concentrates

Possession of 3 oz or less misdemeanor 6 - 18 mos $ 5,000
Possession of more than 3 oz felony 1 year - 18 mos $ 100,000
Distribute, transfer, or possess with intent less than 1 lb felony 1 - 3 years $ 100,000
Distribute, transfer, or possess with intent 1 - 100 lbs felony 2 - 6 years $ 500,000
Distribute, transfer, or possess with intent more than 100 lbs felony 4 - 12 years $ 750,000

Paraphernalia

Possession of paraphernalia petty offense N/A $ 100
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Colorado Medical Marijuana Facts

Colorado Medical Marijuana Statistics & Marijuana Facts

Colorado citizens passed Amendment 20 in 2001, which established the Colorado medical marijuana program and set up a regulatory framework. On June 1st,  2001, the Colorado Medical Marijuana Registry Program began processing applications for Registry identification cards (AKA medical marijuana cards). The latest batch of marijuana facts from the registry indicates that since then, 157,392 Colorado patients have applied for medical marijuana cards since that time. The registry's marijuana statistics also indicate that there are currently 102,592 marijuana patients with valid Colorado marijuana cards.

Colorado Medical Marijuana Facts 2011:

  • Medical marijuana recommendations have been signed by over 1,100 Colorado doctors.
  • The average age of all Colorado marijuana patients is 41. At this time, only 44 patients are minors (under the age of 18).
  • 68% of applicants approved for a medical marijuana card in Colorado are male.
  • According to the registry's cannabis facts, more than half of all Colorado patients, 55%, are concentrated in the Denver-metro area which encompasses the counties of Denver, Boulder, Adams, Arapahoe, Douglas, Jefferson and Broomfield. The other 45% is more evenly spread throughout the state.
  • All of the conditions covered under Colorado's medical marijuana law are represented by patients on the registry. Here, the facts about marijuana in Colorado indicate that 94% of patients report severe pain as a condition; the next most reported condition is muscle spasm, at 18%.  The marijuana statistics go over 100% because many patients have multiple qualifying conditions.
  • 63% of Colorado patients have designated a primary care-giver. A care-giver is a person responsible for managing the care of an individual with a debilitating condition, who may otherwise be unable to get their medical marijuana.

Marijuana Statistics and Facts: Medical Marijuana Conditions

Reported Condition

Number of Patients Reporting Condition

Percent of Patients Reporting Condition

Cachexia

1,462

1%

Cancer

2,552

2%

Glaucoma

996

1%

HIV/AIDS

588

1%

Muscle Spasms

18,610

18%

Seizures

1,579

2%

Severe Pain

96,326

94%

Severe Nausea

12,468

12%

Marijuana Statistics and Facts: Marijuana Patient Age and Sex

Sex

Percent on Registry

Average Age**

Male

68%

40

Female

32%

43

Marijuana Statistics and Facts: Marijuana Patients by County

County

Number of Patients

Percent of Patients

Adams

6,897

7%

Alamosa

324

<1%

Arapahoe

9,090

9%

Archuleta

373

<1%

Baca

52

<1%

Bent

41

<1%

Boulder

9,435

9%

Broomfield

1,041

1%

Chaffee

577

1%

Cheyenne

27

<1%

Clear Creek

426

<1%

Conejos

123

<1%

Costilla

154

<1%

Crowley

64

<1%

Custer

96

<1%

Delta

734

1%

Denver

15,148

15%

Dolores

77

<1%

Douglas

3,291

3%

Eagle

1,127

1%

El Paso

12,521

12%

Elbert

334

<1%

Fremont

1,038

1%

Garfield

1,478

1%

Gilpin

383

<1%

Grand

332

<1%

Gunnison

439

<1%

Hinsdale

16

<1%

Huerfano

183

<1%

Jackson

19

<1%

Jefferson

11,269

11%

Kiowa

13

<1%

Kit Carson

55

<1%

La Plata

1,779

2%

Lake

214

<1%

Larimer

6,022

6%

Las Animas

246

<1%

Lincoln

39

<1%

Logan

190

<1%

Mesa

2,874

3%

Mineral

12

<1%

Moffat

218

<1%

Montezuma

631

1%

Montrose

826

1%

Morgan

166

<1%

Otero

188

<1%

Ouray

146

<1%

Park

727

1%

Phillips

25

<1%

Pitkin

764

1%

Prowers

90

<1%

Pueblo

2,520

2%

Rio Blanco

79

<1%

Rio Grande

172

<1%

Routt

984

1%

Saguache

230

<1%

San Juan

32

<1%

San Miguel

489

<1%

Sedgwick

19

<1%

Summit

1,078

1%

Teller

935

1%

Washington

46

<1%

Weld

3,597

4%

Yuma

77

<1%

 
 
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Colorado Medical Marijuana Card
Changes to Fee Waiver Process: Effective January 1, 
2012, the Registry will only accept certified Colorado 
tax returns as proof of income.  To apply for a fee 
waiver, patients must submit a Request for Fee 
Waiver/Tax-Exempt Status (form #MMR1010) with 
their application packet. Several community partners 
have asked the Registry how patients who are not 
required to file a tax return can meet these 
requirements.  “A person who is not required to file a 
federal return would generally report $0 federal taxable 
income, although their gross income would have to be 
reported on line 25 of the Colorado return,” said 
Richard Giardini, Taxpayer Service Division Director 
for the Colorado Department of Revenue. “There are 
many volunteer groups that prepare returns for the low 
income for free.”
Application fee reduced: Effective January 1, 2012, 
the application fee  is $35.  Please advise patients to 
carefully assess the application fee that must be 
submitted with their paperwork.  The Registry has 
a ‘no refund’ policy. 
New Forms December 2011: The Registry has 
released new versions of all forms effective  
December 1, 2011.  Modifications have been made  
to the forms in response to regulatory changes and the 
reduction of application fees effective January 1, 2012. 
The forms also feature changes recommended by 
community partners.  Please begin using these forms 
immediately.  The Registry will accept the October 
2011 version of Physician Certifications until  
February 29, 2012. 
 
***Changes to Fee Waiver Process: Effective January 1, 2012, the Registry will only accept certified Colorado tax returns as proof of income.  To apply for a fee waiver, patients must submit a Request for Fee Waiver/Tax-Exempt Status (form #MMR1010) with their application packet. Several community partners have asked the Registry how patients who are not required to file a tax return can meet these requirements.  “A person who is not required to file a federal return would generally report $0 federal taxable income, although their gross income would have to be reported on line 25 of the Colorado return,” said Richard Giardini, Taxpayer Service Division Director for the Colorado Department of Revenue. “There are many volunteer groups that prepare returns for the low income for free.”
***Application fee reduced: Effective January 1, 2012, the application fee  is $35.  Please advise patients to carefully assess the application fee that must be submitted with their paperwork.  The Registry has a ‘no refund’ policy. 
***New Forms December 2011: The Registry has released new versions of all forms effective  December 1, 2011.  Modifications have been made  to the forms in response to regulatory changes and the reduction of application fees effective January 1, 2012. The forms also feature changes recommended by community partners.  Please begin using these forms immediately.  The Registry will accept the October 2011 version of Physician Certifications until  February 29, 2012. 
 
COLORADO MEDICAL MARIJUANA CARD
Since Coloradoans passed Amendment 20, the Colorado Board of Health has created a set of rules and regulations which create a confidential statewide registry of medical marijuana patients and caregivers with ID cards for all registered patients. Under Colorado Medical Marijuana Law, a Medical Marijuana Registry ID card (also referred to as a medical marijuana card, a pot card, or cannabis card) is mandatory for all patients being treated with medical marijuana. This card can be obtained from the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE). The cost is $35 and the application process may take up to 30 days.
HOW TO OBTAIN A MEDICAL MARIJUANA CARD IN COLORADO
1. Fill out the appropriate application:?New/Renewal Applications and Instructions for patients over age 18 ?New/Renewal Applications and Instructions for patients under age 18  
2. Send the application, a legible copy of your Colorado driver's license or identification card, and a check or money order for $35 to:
Medical Marijuana Registry?Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment ?HSVR-ADM2-A1 ?4300 Cherry Creek Drive South ?Denver, Colorado 80246-1530
PHONE: (303) 692-2184 || EMAIL: medical.marijuana@state.co.us 
***Please note all applications, renewals and change forms must be submitted via mail and include a legible photo-copy of the patient’s and care-giver’s Colorado identification. Faxes and emails will not be accepted***
 
RELATED COLORADO MEDICAL MARIJUANA REGISTRY FORMS
• CO MMJ Registry - Application
• CO MMJ Registry - Minor Application
• CO MMJ Registry - Change of Patient Records
• CO MMJ Registry - Report of Lost or Stolen Card
• CO MMJ Registry - Request for Patient Info
• CO MMJ Registry - Caregiver Registration
• CO MMJ Registry - Caregiver Limit Waiver
• CO MMJ Registry - Removal of Caregiver
• CO MMJ Registry - Request of Fee Waiver/Tax-Exempt Status
• CO MMJ Registry - Change of Homebound Status
• CO MMJ Registry - Request to Surrender Card
• CO MMJ Registry - Tips
• CO MMJ Registry - FAQs
• CO MMJ Registry - Common Mistakes

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Colorado Medical Marijuana Laws
FULL TEXT OF COLORADO'S MEDICAL MARIJUANA LAW
Colorado Amendment 20
Ballot Title: An amendment to the Colorado Constitution authorizing the medical use of marijuana for persons suffering from debilitating medical conditions, and, in connection therewith, establishing an affirmative defense to Colorado criminal laws for patients and their primary care-givers relating to the medical use of marijuana; establishing exceptions to Colorado criminal laws for patients and primary care-givers in lawful possession of a registry identification card for medical marijuana use and for physicians who advise patients or provide them with written documentation as to such medical marijuana use; defining "debilitating medical condition" and authorizing the state health agency to approve other medical conditions or treatments as debilitating medical conditions; requiring preservation of seized property interests that had been possessed, owned, or used in connection with a claimed medical use of marijuana and limiting forfeiture of such interests; establishing and maintaining a confidential state registry of patients receiving an identification card for the medical use of marijuana and defining eligibility for receipt of such a card and placement on the registry; restricting access to information in the registry; establishing procedures for issuance of an identification card; authorizing fees to cover administrative costs associated with the registry; specifying the form and amount of marijuana a patient may possess and restrictions on its use; setting forth additional requirements for the medical use of marijuana by patients less than eighteen years old; directing enactment of implementing legislation and criminal penalties for certain offenses; requiring the state health agency designated by the governor to make application forms available to residents of Colorado for inclusion on the registry; limiting a health insurer's liability on claims relating to the medical use of marijuana; and providing that no employer must accommodate medical use of marijuana in the workplace.
Text of Proposed Constitutional Amendment:?Be it Enacted by the People of the State of Colorado:
AN AMENDMENT TO THE CONSTITUTION OF THE STATE OF COLORADO, AMENDING ARTICLE XVIII, ADDING A NEW SECTION TO READ:
Section 14. Medical use of marijuana for persons suffering from debilitating medical conditions. ?(1) As used in this section, these terms are defined as follows.
(a) "Debilitating medical condition" means:
 
(I) Cancer, glaucoma, positive status for human immunodeficiency virus, or acquired immune deficiency syndrome, or treatment for such conditions;
 
(II) A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition, or treatment for such conditions, which produces, for a specific patient, one or more of the following, and for which, in the professional opinion of the patient's physician, such condition or conditions reasonably may be alleviated by the medical use of marijuana: cachexia; severe pain; severe nausea; seizures, including those that are characteristic of epilepsy; or persistent muscle spasms, including those that are characteristic of multiple sclerosis; or
 
(III) Any other medical condition, or treatment for such condition, approved by the state health agency, pursuant to its rule making authority or its approval of any petition submitted by a patient or physician as provided in this section.
 
(b) "Medical use" means the acquisition, possession, production, use, or transportation of marijuana or paraphernalia related to the administration of such marijuana to address the symptoms or effects of a patient's debilitating medical condition, which may be authorized only after a diagnosis of the patient's debilitating medical condition by a physician or physicians, as provided by this section.
 
(c) "Parent" means a custodial mother or father of a patient under the age of eighteen years, any person having custody of a patient under the age of eighteen years, or any person serving as a legal guardian for a patient under the age of eighteen years.
 
(d) "Patient" means a person who has a debilitating medical condition.
 
(e) "Physician" means a doctor of medicine who maintains, in good standing, a license to practice medicine issued by the state of Colorado.
 
(f) "Primary care-giver" means a person, other than the patient and the patient's physician, who is eighteen years of age or older and has significant responsibility for managing the well-being of a patient who has a debilitating medical condition.
 
(g) "Registry identification card" means that document, issued by the state health agency, which identifies a patient authorized to engage in the medical use of marijuana and such patient's primary care-giver, if any has been designated.
 
(h) "State health agency" means that public health related entity of state government designated by the governor to establish and maintain a confidential registry of patients authorized to engage in the medical use of marijuana and enact rules to administer this program.
 
(i) "Usable form of marijuana" means the seeds, leaves, buds, and flowers of the plant (genus) cannabis, and any mixture or preparation thereof, which are appropriate for medical use as provided in this section, but excludes the plant's stalks, stems, and roots.
 
(j) "Written documentation" means a statement signed by a patient's physician or copies of the patient's pertinent medical records.
(2)
(a) Except as otherwise provided in subsections (5), (6), and (8) of this section, a patient or primary care-giver charged with a violation of the state's criminal laws related to the patient's medical use of marijuana will be deemed to have established an affirmative defense to such allegation where:
 
(I) The patient was previously diagnosed by a physician as having a debilitating medical condition;
 
(II) The patient was advised by his or her physician, in the context of a bona fide physician-patient relationship, that the patient might benefit from the medical use of marijuana in connection with a debilitating medical condition; and
 
(III) The patient and his or her primary care-giver were collectively in possession of amounts of marijuana only as permitted under this section. This affirmative defense shall not exclude the assertion of any other defense where a patient or primary care-giver is charged with a violation of state law related to the patient's medical use of marijuana.
 
(b) Effective June 1, 1999, it shall be an exception from the state's criminal laws for any patient or primary care-giver in lawful possession of a registry identification card to engage or assist in the medical use of marijuana, except as otherwise provided in subsections (5) and (8) of this section.
 
(c) It shall be an exception from the state's criminal laws for any physician to:
 
(I) Advise a patient whom the physician has diagnosed as having a debilitating medical condition, about the risks and benefits of medical use of marijuana or that he or she might benefit from the medical use of marijuana, provided that such advice is based upon the physician's contemporaneous assessment of the patient's medical history and current medical condition and a bona fide physician-patient relationship; or
 
(II) Provide a patient with written documentation, based upon the physician's contemporaneous assessment of the patient's medical history and current medical condition and a bona fide physician-patient relationship, stating that the patient has a debilitating medical condition and might benefit from the medical use of marijuana. No physician shall be denied any rights or privileges for the acts authorized by this subsection.
 
(d) Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions, no person, including a patient or primary care-giver, shall be entitled to the protection of this section for his or her acquisition, possession, manufacture, production, use, sale, distribution, dispensing, or transportation of marijuana for any use other than medical use.
 
(e) Any property interest that is possessed, owned, or used in connection with the medical use of marijuana or acts incidental to such use, shall not be harmed, neglected, injured, or destroyed while in the possession of state or local law enforcement officials where such property has been seized in connection with the claimed medical use of marijuana. Any such property interest shall not be forfeited under any provision of state law providing for the forfeiture of property other than as a sentence imposed after conviction of a criminal offense or entry of a plea of guilty to such offense. Marijuana and paraphernalia seized by state or local law enforcement officials from a patient or primary care-giver in connection with the claimed medical use of marijuana shall be returned immediately upon the determination of the district attorney or his or her designee that the patient or primary care-giver is entitled to the protection contained in this section as may be evidenced, for example, by a decision not to prosecute, the dismissal of charges, or acquittal.
(3) The state health agency shall create and maintain a confidential registry of patients who have applied for and are entitled to receive a registry identification card according to the criteria set forth in this subsection, effective June 1, 1999.
(a) No person shall be permitted to gain access to any information about patients in the state health agency's confidential registry, or any information otherwise maintained by the state health agency about physicians and primary care-givers, except for authorized employees of the state health agency in the course of their official duties and authorized employees of state or local law enforcement agencies which have stopped or arrested a person who claims to be engaged in the medical use of marijuana and in possession of a registry identification card or its functional equivalent, pursuant to paragraph (e) of this subsection (3). Authorized employees of state or local law enforcement agencies shall be granted access to the information contained within the state health agency's confidential registry only for the purpose of verifying that an individual who has presented a registry identification card to a state or local law enforcement official is lawfully in possession of such card.
 
(b) In order to be placed on the state's confidential registry for the medical use of marijuana, a patient must reside in Colorado and submit the completed application form adopted by the state health agency, including the following information, to the state health agency:
 
(I) The original or a copy of written documentation stating that the patient has been diagnosed with a debilitating medical condition and the physician's conclusion that the patient might benefit from the medical use of marijuana;
 
(II) The name, address, date of birth, and social security number of the patient;
 
(III) The name, address, and telephone number of the patient's physician; and
 
(IV) The name and address of the patient's primary care-giver, if one is designated at the time of application.
 
(c) Within thirty days of receiving the information referred to in subparagraphs (3)(b)(I)-(IV), the state health agency shall verify medical information contained in the patient's written documentation. The agency shall notify the applicant that his or her application for a registry identification card has been denied if the agency's review of such documentation discloses that: the information required pursuant to paragraph (3)(b) of this section has not been provided or has been falsified; the documentation fails to state that the patient has a debilitating medical condition specified in this section or by state health agency rule; or the physician does not have a license to practice medicine issued by the state of Colorado. Otherwise, not more than five days after verifying such information, the state health agency shall issue one serially numbered registry identification card to the patient, stating:
 
(I) The patient's name, address, date of birth, and social security number;
 
(II) That the patient's name has been certified to the state health agency as a person who has a debilitating medical condition, whereby the patient may address such condition with the medical use of marijuana;
 
(III) The date of issuance of the registry identification card and the date of expiration of such card, which shall be one year from the date of issuance; and
 
(IV) The name and address of the patient's primary care-giver, if any is designated at the time of application.
 
(d) Except for patients applying pursuant to subsection (6) of this section, where the state health agency, within thirty-five days of receipt of an application, fails to issue a registry identification card or fails to issue verbal or written notice of denial of such application, the patient's application for such card will be deemed to have been approved. Receipt shall be deemed to have occurred upon delivery to the state health agency, or deposit in the United States mails. Notwithstanding the foregoing, no application shall be deemed received prior to June 1, 1999. A patient who is questioned by any state or local law enforcement official about his or her medical use of marijuana shall provide a copy of the application submitted to the state health agency, including the written documentation and proof of the date of mailing or other transmission of the written documentation for delivery to the state health agency, which shall be accorded the same legal effect as a registry identification card, until such time as the patient receives notice that the application has been denied.
 
(e) A patient whose application has been denied by the state health agency may not reapply during the six months following the date of the denial and may not use an application for a registry identification card as provided in paragraph (3)(d) of this section. The denial of a registry identification card shall be considered a final agency action. Only the patient whose application has been denied shall have standing to contest the agency action.
 
(f) When there has been a change in the name, address, physician, or primary care-giver of patient who has qualified for a registry identification card, that patient must notify the state health agency of any such change within ten days. A patient who has not designated a primary care-giver at the time of application to the state health agency may do so in writing at any time during the effective period of the registry identification card, and the primary care-giver may act in this capacity after such designation. To maintain an effective registry identification card, a patient must annually resubmit, at least thirty days prior to the expiration date stated on the registry identification card, updated written documentation to the state health agency, as well as the name and address of the patient's primary care-giver, if any is designated at such time.
 
(g) Authorized employees of state or local law enforcement agencies shall immediately notify the state health agency when any person in possession of a registry identification card has been determined by a court of law to have willfully violated the provisions of this section or its implementing legislation, or has pled guilty to such offense.
 
(h) A patient who no longer has a debilitating medical condition shall return his or her registry identification card to the state health agency within twenty-four hours of receiving such diagnosis by his or her physician.
 
(i) The state health agency may determine and levy reasonable fees to pay for any direct or indirect administrative costs associated with its role in this program.
(4)
(a) A patient may engage in the medical use of marijuana, with no more marijuana than is medically necessary to address a debilitating medical condition. A patient's medical use of marijuana, within the following limits, is lawful:
(I) No more than two ounces of a usable form of marijuana; and
 
(II) No more than six marijuana plants, with three or fewer being mature, flowering plants that are producing a usable form of marijuana.
 
(b) For quantities of marijuana in excess of these amounts, a patient or his or her primary care-giver may raise as an affirmative defense to charges of violation of state law that such greater amounts were medically necessary to address the patient's debilitating medical condition.
(5)
(a) No patient shall:
(I) Engage in the medical use of marijuana in a way that endangers the health or well-being of any person; or
 
(II) Engage in the medical use of marijuana in plain view of, or in a place open to, the general public.
 
(b) In addition to any other penalties provided by law, the state health agency shall revoke for a period of one year the registry identification card of any patient found to have willfully violated the provisions of this section or the implementing legislation adopted by the general assembly.
(6) Notwithstanding paragraphs (2)(a) and (3)(d) of this section, no patient under eighteen years of age shall engage in the medical use of marijuana unless:
(a) Two physicians have diagnosed the patient as having a debilitating medical condition;
 
(b) One of the physicians referred to in paragraph (6)(a) has explained the possible risks and benefits of medical use of marijuana to the patient and each of the patient's parents residing in Colorado;
 
(c) The physicians referred to in paragraph (6)(b) has provided the patient with the written documentation, specified in subparagraph (3)(b)(I);
 
(d) Each of the patient's parents residing in Colorado consent in writing to the state health agency to permit the patient to engage in the medical use of marijuana;
 
(e) A parent residing in Colorado consents in writing to serve as a patient's primary care-giver;
 
(f) A parent serving as a primary care-giver completes and submits an application for a registry identification card as provided in subparagraph (3)(b) of this section and the written consents referred to in paragraph (6)(d) to the state health agency;
 
(g) The state health agency approves the patient's application and transmits the patient's registry identification card to the parent designated as a primary care-giver;
 
(h) The patient and primary care-giver collectively possess amounts of marijuana no greater than those specified in subparagraph (4)(a)(I) and (II); and
 
(i) The primary care-giver controls the acquisition of such marijuana and the dosage and frequency of its use by 
the patient.
(7) Not later than March 1, 1999, the governor shall designate, by executive order, the state health agency as defined in paragraph (1)(g) of this section.
(8) Not later than April 30, 1999, the General Assembly shall define such terms and enact such legislation as may be necessary for implementation of this section, as well as determine and enact
(a) Fraudulent representation of a medical condition by a patient to a physician, state health agency, or state or local law enforcement official for the purpose of falsely obtaining a registry identification card or avoiding arrest and prosecution;
 
(b) Fraudulent use or theft of any person's registry identification card to acquire, possess, produce, use, sell, distribute, or transport marijuana, including but not limited to cards that are required to be returned where patients are no longer diagnosed as having a debilitating medical condition;
 
(c) Fraudulent production or counterfeiting of, or tampering with, one or more registry identification cards; or
 
(d) Breach of confidentiality of information provided to or by the state health agency.
(9) Not later than June 1, 1999, the state health agency shall develop and make available to residents of Colorado an application form for persons seeking to be listed on the confidential registry of patients. By such date, the state health agency shall also enact rules of administration, including but not limited to rules governing the establishment and confidentiality of the registry, the verification of medical information, the issuance and form of registry identification cards, communications with law enforcement officials about registry identification cards that have been suspended where a patient is no longer diagnosed as having a debilitating medical condition, and the manner in which the agency may consider adding debilitating medical conditions to the list provided in this section. Beginning June 1, 1999, the state health agency shall accept physician or patient initiated petitions to add debilitating medical conditions to the list provided in this section and, after such hearing as the state health agency deems appropriate, shall approve or deny such petitions within one hundred eighty days of submission. The decision to approve or deny a petition shall be considered a final agency action.
(10)
(a) No governmental, private, or any other health insurance provider shall be required to be liable for any claim for reimbursement for the medical use of marijuana.
 
(b) Nothing in this section shall require any employer to accommodate the medical use of marijuana in any work place.
(11) Unless otherwise provided by this section, all provisions of this section shall become effective upon official declaration of the vote hereon by proclamation of the governor, pursuant to article V, section (1)(4), and shall apply to acts or offenses committed on or after that date.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Colorado Medical Marijuana Qualification
Who Qualifies for Medicinal Marijuana in Colorado
In November of 2000, voters of the state of Colorado passed Amendment 20 to the state's constitution which legally allows patients with certain illnesses to use marijuana for medical reasons. To qualify for medical marijuana (also referred to as medical weed, medical pot or medical cannabis) you must have a debilitating medical condition and obtain a registry card, also referred to as medical marijana card or cannabis card, from the Department of Public Health and Environment. The Colorado Board of Health has created a set of rules and regulations which create a confidential statewide registry of medical marijuana patients and caregivers with ID cards for all registered patients. Under Amendment 20, patients, physicians and primary or alternate caregivers have an affirmative defense to criminal prosecution under the state's marijuana laws.
Read the full text of Amendment 20 here.
HOW TO QUALIFY FOR MEDICAL MARIJUANA IN COLORADO
• Must be a Colorado Resident with a valid Colorado I.D. as proof of residency. If you do not have a Colorado I.D. an out of state I.D., passport, or other photo I.D. with proof of residency such as bank statement, utility bill, etc. is acceptable.
• Obtain legitimate medical records or documentation from your primary care physician describing their diagnosis. Learn how to request your medical records.
• Receive a written certification/recommendation from a physician that is licensed in the state of Colorado that states you will benefit from the medicinal use of marijuana. The physician should keep copies of this on file for the verification process. Find a medical marijuana doctor in Colorado here.
• Obtain a medical marijuana card  from the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment. The cost is $90 and the application process may take up to 30 days. Patients over age 18 can download the application form here. Patients under age 18 can download the form here.
WHAT AILMENTS CAN BE TREATED WITH MEDICAL CANNABIS IN COLORADO?
In Colorado, debilitating medical conditions* are defined as:
• Cancer
• Glaucoma
• HIV/AIDS
• A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition other than HIV, cancer or glaucoma; or treatment for such conditions, which produces for a specific patient one or more of the following, and for which, in the professional opinion of the patient's physician, such condition or conditions may reasonably be alleviated by the medical use of marijuana:
? Cachexia
? Severe pain;
? Severe nausea;
? Seizures, including those that are characteristic of epilepsy
? Persistent muscle spasms, including those that are characteristic of multiple sclerosis
*You and/or your physician may petition to include other medical conditions that would benefit from the medical use of marijuana in the event your condition is found invalid by the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment.
MEDICAL MARIJUANA ACCESS
Some medical marijuana patients will claim they have a doctor's prescription for medical marijuana, but marijuana prescriptions are in fact illegal. The federal government classifies marijuana as a schedule I drug. Therefore doctors are unable to prescribe marijuana to their patients, and medical marijuana patients cannot go to a pharmacy to fill a prescription for medical marijuana. Instead, medical marijuana physicians will supply patients with a medical marijuana recommendation in compliance with state law.
According to Colorado medical marijuana law, patients and their caregivers may cultivate their own medical marijuana for the patient's private use and each may possess two usable ounces and six plants, three of which may be mature. Colorado’s medical marijuana laws do not include provisions for the selling or distributing of medical cannabis.
HOW TO CONTACT THE COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENT
Mailing Address:
Medical Marijuana Registry
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
HSVR-ADM2-A1
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver, Colorado 80246-1530
Phone Number:
(303) 692-2184 ?Email:
medical.marijuana@state.co.us


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Colorado Medical Marijuana
Colorado Medical Marijuana Laws, Colorado Medical Marijuana Qualifications and General Colorado Marijuana Information
The State of Colorado has a legalized medical marijuana program, which allows legal medical marijuana patients to receive a marijuana recommendation from a certified physician, apply for a State-issued Colorado Medical Marijuana ID Card, and grow and/or purchase marijuana for medicinal use per state guidelines. We have compiled the following index of medical marijuana information in Colorado to serve as a legal library to our users for legal reference of Colorado's laws and guidelines regarding Medical Cannabis.
Please note that in order to become a legal medical marijuana patient you must first have a qualifying condition as outlined by the department of health services and/or department of justice. For a comprehensive list of Colorado's medical marijuana qualifying conditions you can visit our qualifying conditions section located on the top of our menu under "legal states".
Since the Colorado medical marijuana program is still changing their laws and new Colorado medical marijuana laws are being enacted on a monthly basis, please be sure to visit our site frequently to get the most updated laws as it pertains to the Colorado medical marijuana program.
Please click a corresponding link to find out more about your Colorado's Medical Marijuana Program.
COLORADO QUALIFICATION
Find out Who Qualifies for Marijuana in Colorado in our definitive guide of Colorado's qualification guidelines. Read up on medical conditions that are covered under Colorado's medical marijuana program, age restrictions, criminal conviction restrictions, and more.
COLORADO MEDICAL MARIJUANA LAWS
Read Colorado's Full Medical Marijuana Laws to gain full specific knowledge of Colorado's exact legal guidelines without interpretation. We suggest that you print Colorado's Full Medicinal Marijuana Laws for use with our MyDoc program in order to provide your physician full insight into Colorado's laws for his knowledge.
COLORADO MEDICAL MARIJUANA CARD
Find out how to obtain a{n} Colorado Medical Marijuana Card with our guide to Colorado's state medicinal marijuana ID program. Some states require that you obtain your card prior to obtaining your medicine, so read here first to ensure that you know Colorado's requirements.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EQS3KEGtdBI  >>>
 Medical Marijuana Patient Clayton Holton Tells His Story Muscular Distrophy

 

 

 

Related News & Information

Learn More About Federal Marijuana Laws   Learn About California's Marijuana Laws  

Read About the Laws in Other States