Michigan Medical Marijuana Laws


Possession

  • Marijuana use* misdemeanor 90 days $100
  • Any amount* misdemeanor 1 year $2,000
  • In a park* misdemeanor or felony 2 years $2,000

*Conditional discharge possible.

Cultivation

  • Less than 20 plants felony 4 years $20,000
  • 20 to 200 plants felony 7 years $500,000
  • 200 or more plants felony 15 years $10,000,000

Sale 

  • Distribution without remuneration misdemeanor 1 year $1,000
  • Less than 5 kg felony 4 years $20,000
  • 5 to 45 kg felony 7 years $500,000
  • 45 kg or more felony 15 years $10,000,000
  • Miscellaneous (paraphernalia, license suspensions, drug tax stamps, etc...)
  • Paraphernalia sale** misdemeanor 90 days $5,000

**Preceded by cease and desist order, and if complied with, it is a complete defense to the charges.

Six month driver's license suspension upon conviction for marijuana charges.

Details 

The penalty for the use of marijuana is up to 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $100.

Possession of marijuana in any amount is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000, unless the possession occurred in a public or private park, which increases the penalty to a possible 2 years in prison.

Conditional discharge is available in all use and possession cases.

Distribution of marijuana without remuneration is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. For cultivation of less than 20 plants or sale of less than 5 kilograms, the punishment is up to four years in jail and a fine of up to $20,000. For cultivation of 20 or more plants or sale of 5 kilograms or more, the punishment is up to seven years in prison and a fine up to $500,000. Cultivation of 200 or more plants or sale of 45 kilograms or more is punishable by up to 15 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000,000.

The sale of paraphernalia is punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $5,000. The arrest for sale of paraphernalia is preceded by a cease and desist order, and if the order is complied with, it is a complete defense to the charges.

Ann Arbor: The penalty for being caught with marijuana is $25.00 USD for the first offense, $50.00 for the second and $100.00 for the third or subsequent offense (and no incarceration or probation). However, laws do not apply on university property i.e. the dorms; the university has a much more strict policy on possession and/or use.

Related News & Information

Learn More About Federal Marijuana Laws   Learn About California's Marijuana Laws  

Read About the Laws in Other States