Rhode Island Medical Marijuana Laws

Possession

  • Less than 1 kg misdemeanor 1 year $200 - $500
  • 1 kg to 5 kg felony 10 years  $10,000 - $500,000
  • More than 5 kg felony 20 years  $25,000 - $100,000
  • Within 300 yards of a school, public park or playground felony double penalty double penalty
  • Possession while driving causes driver's license suspension for 6 months (first offense), and 1 year (subsequent offense).

Sale or Cultivation

  • Less than 1 kg felony 30 years $3,000 - $100,000
  • 1 kg to 5 kg felony 10 years  $10,000 - $500,000
  • More than 5 kg felony 20 years  $25,000 - $100,000
  • Delivery to a minor 3 years younger felony 2 - 5 years $10,000
  • Within 300 yards of a school, public park or playground felony double penalty double penalty
  • Miscellaneous (paraphernalia, license suspensions, drug tax stamps, etc...)
  • For sentences of probation with no imprisonment, the offender is required to undergo a drug abuse evaluation, attend a drug education course and perform 100 hours of community service.


Details

Possession of less than one kilogram of marijuana is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of $200 - $500.

Driving while in possession of marijuana is penalized by suspension of the offender's driver's license for six months for the first offense and for one year for subsequent offenses.

Manufacture or delivery of less than one kilogram of marijuana is punishable by up to 30 years in prison and a fine of $3,000 - $100,000. Delivery to a minor at least three years younger than the offender adds an additional 2 - 5 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000. Sale or possession within 300 yards of a school, public park or playground doubles the possible penalties.

A new law eliminating mandatory minimum drug sentences in Rhode Island has taken effect without the governor's signature. The new law, which took effect December 2009, leaves the sentence to the judge's discretion.
For sentences of probation with no imprisonment, the offender is required to undergo a drug abuse evaluation, attend a drug education course and perform 100 hours of community service.

Related News & Information

Learn More About Federal Marijuana Laws   Learn About California's Marijuana Laws  

Read About the Laws in Other States