Vermont Medical Marijuana Laws 2014

Vermont Marijuana Penalties

Offense

Penalty

Incarceration

  Max. Fine  

Possession

Less than 2 oz. (First offense)

Misdemeanor

6 months

$500

Less than 2 oz. (Subsequent offense)

Misdemeanor

2 years

$2,000

2 oz. to 1 lb.

Felony

3 years

$3,000

1 lb. to 10 lbs.

Felony

5 years

$100,000

10 lbs. or more

Felony

15 years

$500,000

Sale

Less than 1/2 oz.

Misdemeanor

2 years

$10,000

1/2 oz. to 1 lb.

Felony

5 years

$100,000

1 lb. to 50 lbs.

Felony

15 years

$500,000

More than 50 lbs.

Felony

30 years

$1,000,000

To a minor

Felony

5 years

$25,000

Hash & Concentrates

Penalties for hashish are the same as for marijuana. Please see the marijuana penalties section for further details.

Cultivation

3 to 10 plants

Felony

3 years

$10,000

11 to 25 plants

Felony

5 years

$100,000

More than 25 plants

Felony

15 years

$500,000

Cultivating 1 - 2 plants will be punished as possession.

Paraphernalia

Possessing or sale of paraphernalia.

Misdemeanor

1 year

$1,000

To a minor

Misdemeanor

2 years

$2,000

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Vermont Medical Marijuana Facts
Vermont Medical Marijuana Statistics and Marijuana Facts
Medical marijuana arrived in Vermont in 2004 via Senate Bill 76, officially termed “Act Relating to Marijuana Use by Persons with Severe Illness.” The law easily cleared the state House and Senate but was in fact never signed by Governor James Douglas and so became law automatically after the signing period expired. Originally, the act simply removed criminal penalties for possession and cultivation for patients diagnosed with a “debilitating medical condition” and a mandatory registry to issue Vermont marijuana cards to qualifying individuals. That law was amended in 2007 to better align its intentions with the greater national realities and facts of medical marijuana. Effective July 1st 2007, the updated law specified the qualifying conditions as: cancer, HIV/AIDS, multiple sclerosis, cachexia, severe pain, severe nausea, seizures and the chronic and debilitating effects of various treatments. Vermont’s medical marijuana law was further amended in June of 2011by the passing of SB17, which authorizes the creation of four state-licensed dispensaries.
VERMONT MEDICAL MARIJUANA FACTS 2011:
• Vermont patients and caregivers are allowed to possess no more than two ounces of usable cannabis and two mature plants. They may also have up to seven immature plants according to the 2007 amendment.
• Vermont allows doctors licensed in other states (New Hampshire, Massachusetts and New York) to recommend medical marijuana to Vermont residents.
• The planned dispensaries are supposed to become operational by mid 2012 and will be able to provide medical cannabis for up to 1000 Vermont patients each.
• An interesting fact about Vermont’s medical marijuana program is that data and statistics from the state’s marijuana registry are not readily available. The most current information states that as of 2009 there were only 107 patients in the state.
• One unsavory fact about medical marijuana in Vermont is that the state’s mandatory medical marijuana registry is implemented and administered by the Vermont Criminal Information Center. This is the same department tasked with the state’s sex offender registry.
• Individuals applying to receive a Vermont medical marijuana card must show that they have a “bona fide physician-patient relationship, defined by as a “treating or consulting relationship of not less than six months duration.”
• The Department of Public Safety keeps all patient information confidential and only allows inquiries by law enforcement.
• Caregivers in Vermont must be over 21 years old and have no drug related criminal convictions.
VERMONT MARIJUANA DATA: NEWEST FACTS AND DEVELOPMENTS:
          Recently, current Vermont Governor Peter Shumlin declared that he believes federal law needs to be amended to allow the legal prescription of medical marijuana. He has signed an official request, along with the governors from Rhode Island and Washington, petitioning the federal government to move cannabis to Schedule II. "I think it's ludicrous that marijuana is put in the same category by the federal government as heroin and other drugs that are extraordinarily addictive," said the governor.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Vermont Medical Marijuana Card
VERMONT MEDICAL MARIJUANA CARD
Under Vermont medical marijuana law, qualifying patients must register with and receive a Marijuana Registry Identification Card from the Vermont Marijuana Registry. The Registry will process your application within 30 days after your application is complete. If your application is approved you will be notified in writing and receive a Marijuana Registry Identification Card, also referred to as a medical marijuana card or a cannabis card. If your application is denied you will be notified in writing and be advised of your right to appeal the denial. Registrations are issued for one year and are renewable.
HOW TO OBTAIN A MEDICAL MARIJUANA CARD IN VERMONT
• Obtain a Marijuana Registry Physician’s Medical Verification Form from a physician licensed to practice in Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts or New York.  (You can find a medical marijuana doctor in Vermont here.)
• Complete and sign the Registered Patient Application Form.
• Contact a notary public to notarize your signature.
• Create a digital photograph of yourself in a .jpg format and copy the photo to a floppy disk or CD. Label the disk or CD with your name and date of birth and include it with your application.
• Send your notarized application form, digital photo, Physician’s Medical Verification Form, and $50 application fee to:
Vermont Marijuana Registry?Department of Public Safety?103 South Main Street?Waterbury, Vermont 05671
 
Other Related Vermont Medical Marijuana Registry Forms and Links:
• Regsitered Patient Application Form
• Physician's Verification Form
• Rgistered Caregiver Application Form
• VT Medical Marijuana Registry FAQs
• VT Marijuana Registry - Patient FAQs
• VT Marijuana Registry - Physician Information
• VT Marijuana Registry - Caregiver Information
• VT Marijuana Dispensary Information
? VT Marijuana Dispensary Rules
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Vermont Medical Marijuana Laws
FULL TEXT OF VERMONT'S MEDICAL MARIJUANA LAW
Vermont Senate Bill 7
AN ACT RELATING TO THE COMPASSIONATE USE OF MARIJUANA FOR MEDICAL PURPOSES
It is hereby enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Vermont:
Sec. 1.  18 V.S.A. chapter 86 is amended to read:
CHAPTER 86.  THERAPEUTIC USE OF CANNABIS
* * *
Subchapter 2.  Marijuana for Medical Use by Persons with Severe Illness
§ 4472.  DEFINITIONS
For the purposes of this subchapter:
(1)  “Bona fide physician-patient relationship” means a treating or consulting relationship of not less than six months duration, in the course of which a physician has completed a full assessment of the registered patient’s medical history and current medical condition, including a personal physical examination.
(2)  “Debilitating medical condition,” provided that, in the context of the specific disease or condition described in subdivision (A) or (B) of this subdivision (2), reasonable medical efforts have been made over a reasonable amount of time without success to relieve the symptoms, means:
(A)  end of life care for cancer or acquired immune deficiency syndrome; or
(B)  cancer, acquired immune deficiency syndrome, positive status for human immunodeficiency virus, multiple sclerosis, or the treatment of these diseases or medical conditions if:
(i)  the disease or condition or its treatment results in severe, persistent, and intractable symptoms; and
(ii)  in the context of the specific disease or condition, reasonable medical efforts have been made over a reasonable amount of time without success in relieving the symptoms.
(A) cancer, multiple sclerosis, positive status for human immunodeficiency virus, acquired immune deficiency syndrome, or the treatment of these conditions, if the disease or the treatment results in severe, persistent, and intractable symptoms; or
(B)  a disease, medical condition, or its treatment that:
(i)  is chronic, progressive, and debilitating; and
(ii)  produces severe, persistent, and one or more of the following intractable symptoms: cachexia or wasting syndrome; severe pain; severe nausea; or seizures.
(3)  “Marijuana” shall have the same meaning as provided in subdivision 4201(15) of this title.
(4)  “Physician” means a person who is:
(A)  licensed under chapter 23 or chapter 33 of Title 26, and is licensed with authority to prescribe drugs under Title 26; or
(B)  a physician, surgeon, or osteopathic physician licensed to practice medicine and prescribe drugs under comparable provisions in New Hampshire, Massachusetts or New York.
(5)  “Possession limit” means the amount of marijuana collectively possessed between the registered patient and the patient’s registered caregiver which is no more than one four mature marijuana plant plants, two ten immature plants, and two ounces of usable marijuana.
(6)  “Registered caregiver” means a person who is at least 21 years old who has never been convicted of a drug-related crime and who has agreed to undertake responsibility for managing the well-being of a registered patient with respect to the use of marijuana for symptom relief.
(7)  “Registered patient” means a person who has been issued a registration card by the department of public safety identifying the person as having a debilitating medical condition pursuant to the provisions of this subchapter.
(8)  “Secure indoor facility” means a building or room equipped with locks or other security devices that permit access only by a registered caregiver or registered patient.
(9)  “Usable marijuana” means the dried leaves and flowers of marijuana, and any mixture or preparation thereof, and does not include the seeds, stalks, and roots of the plant.
(10)  “Use for symptom relief” means the acquisition, possession, cultivation, use, transfer, or transportation of marijuana or paraphernalia relating to the administration of marijuana to alleviate the symptoms or effects of a registered  patient’s debilitating medical condition which is in compliance with all the limitations and restrictions of this subchapter.  For the purposes of this definition, “transfer” is limited to the transfer of marijuana and paraphernalia between a registered caregiver and a registered patient.
§ 4473.  REGISTERED PATIENTS; QUALIFICATION STANDARDS AND PROCEDURES
(a)  To become a registered patient, a person must be diagnosed with a debilitating medical condition by a physician in the course of a bona fide physician-patient relationship. 
(b)  The department of public safety shall review applications to become a registered patient using the following procedures:
(1)  A patient with a debilitating medical condition shall submit, under oath, a signed application for registration to the department.  If the patient is under the age of 18 the application must be signed by both the patient and a parent or guardian.  The application shall require identification and contact information for the patient and the patient’s registered caregiver applying for authorization under section 4474 of this title, if any.  The applicant shall attach to the application a copy of relevant portions of the patient’s medical record sufficient to establish that the patient has a debilitating medical condition.
(2)  The department shall contact the physician for purposes of verifying the existence of a bona fide physician-patient relationship and the accuracy of the medical record.  The department may approve an application, notwithstanding the six-month requirement in subdivision 4472(1) of this title, if the department is satisfied that the debilitating medical condition is of recent or sudden onset and that the patient has not had a previous physician who is able to verify the nature of the disease and its symptoms.
(3)  The department shall approve or deny the application for registration in writing within 30 days from receipt of a completed registration application.  If the application is approved, the department shall issue the applicant a registration card which shall include the registered patient’s name and photograph, as well as a unique identifier for law enforcement verification purposes under section 4474d of this title.
(4)(A)  A review board is established.  The medical practice board shall appoint three physicians licensed in Vermont to constitute the review board.  If an application under subdivision (1) of this subsection is denied, within seven days the patient may appeal the denial to the board.  Review shall be limited to information submitted by the patient under subdivision (1) of this subsection, and consultation with the patient’s treating physician.  All records relating to the appeal shall be kept confidential.  An appeal shall be decided by majority vote of the members of the board.
(B)  The board shall meet periodically to review studies, data, and any other information relevant to the use of marijuana for symptom relief.  The board may make recommendations to the general assembly for adjustments and changes to this chapter.
(C)  Members of the board shall serve for three-year terms, beginning February 1 of the year in which the appointment is made, except that the first members appointed shall serve as follows:  one for a term of two years, one for a term of three years, and one for a term of four years.  Members shall be entitled to per diem compensation authorized under section 1010 of Title 32.  Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment for the unexpired portion of the term vacated.
§ 4474.   REGISTERED CAREGIVERS; QUALIFICATION STANDARDS AND PROCEDURES
(a)  A person may submit a signed application to the department of public safety to become a registered patient’s registered caregiver.  The department shall approve or deny the application in writing within 30 days.  The department shall approve a registered caregiver’s application and issue the person an authorization card, including the caregiver’s name, photograph, and a unique identifier, after verifying:
(1)  the person will serve as the registered caregiver for one registered patient only; and
(2)  the person has never been convicted of a drug‑related crime.
(b)  Prior to acting on an application, the department shall obtain from the Vermont criminal information center a Vermont criminal record, an out-of-state criminal record, and a criminal record from the Federal Bureau of Investigation for the applicant.  For purposes of this subdivision, “criminal record” means a record of whether the person has ever been convicted of a drug-related crime.  Each applicant shall consent to release of criminal records to the department on forms substantially similar to the release forms developed by the center pursuant to section 2056c of Title 20.  The department shall comply with all laws regulating the release of criminal history records and the protection of individual privacy.  The Vermont criminal information center shall send to the requester any record received pursuant to this section or inform the department of public safety that no record exists.  If the department disapproves an application, the department shall promptly provide a copy of any record of convictions and pending criminal charges to the applicant and shall inform the applicant of the right to appeal the accuracy and completeness of the record pursuant to rules adopted by the Vermont criminal information center.  No person shall confirm the existence or nonexistence of criminal record information to any person who would not be eligible to receive the information pursuant to this subchapter.
(c)  A registered caregiver may serve only one registered patient at a time, and a registered patient may have only one registered caregiver at a time.
§ 4474a.  REGISTRATION; FEES
(a)  The department shall collect a fee of $100.00 $50.00 for the application authorized by sections 4473 and 4474 of this title.  The fees received by the department shall be deposited into a registration fee fund and used to offset the costs of processing applications under this subchapter.
(b)  A registration card shall expire one year after the date of issue, with the option of renewal, provided the patient submits a new application which is approved by the department of public safety, pursuant to sections section 4473 or 4474 of this title, and pays the fee required under subsection (a) of this section.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Vermont Medical Marijuana Qualification
Who Qualifies for Medicinal Marijuana in Vermont
In 2007, the Vermont General Assembly passed Senate Bill 7, which amended 18 V.S.A. Chapter 86, the state’s law regarding the use of medical marijuana (also referred to as medical weed, medical pot or medical cannabis). Under Vermont's medical marijuana law, patients diagnosed with a "debilitating medical condition” are exempt from state-level criminal penalties on the use, possession and cultivation of marijuana. Patients or their primary caregivers may legally possess no more than two mature marijuana plants, seven immature plants; and two ounces of usable marijuana. Qualifying patients must register with and receive a Marijuana Registry Identification Card from the Vermont Marijuana Registry.
Read the full text of Senate Bill 7 here.
HOW TO BECOME A MEDICAL MARIJUANA PATIENT IN VERMONT
• Must be a resident of Vermont with a valid Vermont I.D. as proof of residency. If you do not have a Vermont I.D. an out of state I.D., passport, or other photo I.D. with proof of residency such as bank statement, utility bill, etc. is acceptable. 
• Obtain a copy of your medical records indicating diagnosis of a qualifying condition, as listed below. Learn how to request your medical records and remember to bring these records with you to your marijuana evaluation appointment.
• Obtain a Marijuana Registry Physician’s Medical Verification Form from a physician licensed to practice in Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts or New York. (You can find a Vermont medical marijuana doctor here.)
• Register with the Vermont Marijuana Registry to receive a registry identification card aka medical marjiuana card by sending your application form, Physician’s Medical Verification Form, and $50 application fee to the address listed below. Patients can download the application form here.
WHAT AILMENTS CAN BE TREATED WITH MEDICAL CANNABIS?
Patients in Vermont diagnosed with one of the following illnesses are afforded legal protection under Senate Bill 7:
• cancer, multiple sclerosis, HIV/AIDS, or the treatment of these conditions, if the disease or the treatment results in severe, persistent, and intractable symptoms; or
• a disease, medical condition, or its treatment that is chronic, debilitating, and produces severe, persistent, and one or more of the following intractable symptoms:  cachexia or wasting syndrome; severe pain; severe nausea; or seizures.
MEDICAL MARIJUANA ACCESS
Some medical marijuana patients will claim they have a doctor's prescription for medical marijuana, but marijuana prescriptions are in fact illegal. The federal government classifies marijuana as a schedule I drug. Therefore doctors are unable to prescribe marijuana to their patients, and medical marijuana patients cannot go to a pharmacy to fill a prescription for medical marijuana. Instead, medical marijuana physicians will supply patients with a medical marijuana recommendation in compliance with state law.
According to Vermont medical marijuana law, patients and their caregivers may grow medical marijuana single,secure indoor facility for the patient's private use and may possess up to two usable ounces and nine plants, two of which may be mature. Vermont’s medical marijuana laws do not include provisions for the selling or distributing of medical cannabis.
HOW TO CONTACT THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
Mailing Address:?Marijuana Registry?Department of Public Safety?103 South Main Street?Waterbury, Vermont 05671??Phone Number: ?802-241-5115
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Vermont Medical Marijuana
Vermont Medical Marijuana Laws, Vermont Medical Marijuana Qualifications and General Vermont Marijuana Information
The State of Vermont has a legalized medical marijuana program, which allows legal medical marijuana patients to receive a marijuana recommendation from a certified physician, apply for a State-issued Vermont Medical Marijuana ID Card, and grow and/or purchase marijuana for medicinal use per state guidelines. We have compiled the following index of medical marijuana information in Vermont to serve as a legal library to our users for legal reference of Vermont's laws and guidelines regarding Medical Cannabis.
Please note that in order to become a legal medical marijuana patient you must first have a qualifying condition as outlined by the department of health services and/or department of justice. For a comprehensive list of Vermont's medical marijuana qualifying conditions you can visit our qualifying conditions section located on the top of our menu under "legal states".
Since the Vermont medical marijuana program is still changing their laws and new Vermont medical marijuana laws are being enacted on a monthly basis, please be sure to visit our site frequently to get the most updated laws as it pertains to the Vermont medical marijuana program.
Please click a corresponding link to find out more about your Vermont's Medical Marijuana Program.
VERMONT QUALIFICATION
Find out Who Qualifies for Marijuana in Vermont in our definitive guide of Vermont's qualification guidelines. Read up on medical conditions that are covered under Vermont's medical marijuana program, age restrictions, criminal conviction restrictions, and more.
VERMONT MEDICAL MARIJUANA LAWS
Read Vermont's Full Medical Marijuana Laws to gain full specific knowledge of Vermont's exact legal guidelines without interpretation. We suggest that you print Vermont's Full Medicinal Marijuana Laws for use with our MyDoc program in order to provide your physician full insight into Vermont's laws for his knowledge.
VERMONT MEDICAL MARIJUANA CARD
Find out how to obtain a{n} Vermont Medical Marijuana Card with our guide to Vermont's state medicinal marijuana ID program. Some states require that you obtain your card prior to obtaining your medicine, so read here first to ensure that you know Vermont's requirements.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

 

 

  • Less than 2 oz (second offense) misdemeanor 2 years $2,000
  • 2 oz to 1 lb felony 3 years $10,000
  • 1 to 10 lbs felony 5 years $100,000
  • 10 lbs or more felony 15 years $500,000
  • *Possible deferred sentencing for first offenders.

Cultivation

  • 3 to 10 plants felony 3 years $10,000
  • 11 to 25 plants felony 5 years $100,000
  • More than 25 plants felony 15 years $500,000

Sale

  • Less than 1/2 oz misdemeanor 2 years $10,000
  • 1/2 oz to 1 lb felony 5 years $100,000
  • 1 lb or more felony 15 years $500,000
  • Delivery to a minor at least 3 years younger by seller over age 18 felony 5 years $25,000
  • To a minor or on school grounds or on a school bus felony additional 10 years 
  • Miscellaneous (paraphernalia, license suspensions, drug tax stamps, etc...)
  • Paraphernalia sale misdemeanor 1 year $1,000


Details

Possession of less than two ounces of marijuana is punishable by up to six months in jail and a fine up to $500 for the first offense. For a second offense the penalty increases to a possible two years in prison and a fine up to $2,000. There is a possibility of deferred sentencing for first offenders. For possession of two ounces or more, the penalty is up to three years in prison and a fine up to $10,000. Possession of one pound or more is punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine up to $100,000. Possession of ten pounds or more carries a penalty of up to 15 years in prison and a fine up to $500,000.

Cultivation of greater than three plants is punishable by up to three years in prison and a fine up to $10,000. For greater than 10 plants, the penalties increase to a possible five years in prison and a fine up to $100,000. Cultivation of greater than 25 plants carries a penalty up to 15 years in prison and a fine up to $500,000.

Sale or delivery of less than one-half ounce of marijuana is punishable by up to two years in prison and a fine up to $10,000. For amounts of one-half ounce or more, the penalties increase to a possible five years in prison and a fine up to $100,000. Sale or delivery of one pound or more carries a penalty of up to 15 years in jail and a fine up to $500,000.

Anyone over 18 who delivers marijuana to a minor who is at least three years his junior faces an additional penalty of up to five years in prison and a fine up to $25,000. Any sale of marijuana to a minor or any sale on school grounds or on a school bus carries an additional sentence of up to ten years in prison.

Sale of paraphernalia is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ml8CZ2q2zrE  >>>

3 year old gets mmj instead of chemotherapy

Related News & Information

Learn More About Federal Marijuana Laws   Learn About California's Marijuana Laws  

Read About the Laws in Other States