Post by Ask Jan on Jun 3, 2014 5:47:37 GMT -8
A patient who possesses a medical marijuana ID card issued by the Maine Department of Health and Human Services may use marijuana. A patient may also designate a caregiver for assistance and receive marijuana from a dispensary. If you are a patient and elect to grow your own medicine, you must indicate this choice on the application for your ID.
A patient may possess... up to 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana. If a patient does not designate a primary caregiver to grow marijuana, then the patient may have up to 6 plants only 3 of which may be mature, flowering plants.
amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS or Lou Gehrig's Disease)
nail-patella syndrome (NPS or Turnerâ€“Kiser syndrome)
pain that has not responded to ordinary medical or surgical measures for more than 6 months
cachexia or wasting syndrome
seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy
severe and persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of multiple sclerosis
any other medical condition approved by the Department of Health and Human Services
There is an application fee of $100. For a patient on MaineCare this fee is $75. An application and instructions can be found here.
A licensed doctor (an MD or a DO) may recommend marijuana within the context of a bona fide physician-patient relationship. A doctor's recommendation must take the form of a written statement that in the doctor's professional opinion, "a patient is likely to receive therapeutic or palliative benefit from the medical use of marijuana to treat or alleviate the patient's debilitating medical condition." The written recommendation must also specify what debilitating medical condition the doctor is recommending medical marijuana for. If this condition is not an eligible condition, then the recommendation will not be valid.
Access/ Caregivers/ Dispensaries
Caregivers must register with the State and receive an ID card before they can possess and cultivate marijuana. A person cannot be a caregiver for more than 5 patients. Caregivers may possess up to 2.5 ounces and 6 plants in an enclosed and locked facility for each patient the caregiver assists. Caregivers may receive compensation for the costs of their services.
Maine does allow medical marijuana dispensaries. These dispensaries must be non-profit, licensed by the state, and follow a set of strict regulations. A dispensary may not give you more than 2.5 ounces of marijuana for each fifteen day period. Local ordinances may also determine how dispensaries can operate near you.
You are not allowed to possess marijuana on school grounds. Do not smoke in public or while operating a vehicle.
A minor-patient's application must include parental consent. You will need to submit copies of guardianship papers with the application.
There are protections in place to prevent a school, employer, or landlord from discriminating against you solely because of your status as a medical marijuana patient. These protections do not apply if they would cause a school, employer, or landlord to risk loosing federal funding or cause them to violate federal law. If smoking is prohibited in an area, including an apartment, then this will apply to medical marijuana as well as to tobacco.
The list of patients maintained by the State is confidential.
Out of State Patients
A visiting medical marijuana patient with an equivalent ID issued by another state is protected by Maine's medical marijuana laws. This protection is temporary so if are a patient who plans on staying in Maine, then you must get a Maine patient ID.
For more information
www.maine.gov/dhhs/dlrs/mmma-faq.shtml a Department of Health and Human Services FAQ
www.maine.gov/legis/lawlib/medmarij.html the Legislature's medical marijuana website